top of page
  • Writer's pictureTourvashu Blogs

Char Dham Yatra Itinerary | Char Dham Yatra: Explore the Spiritual Marvels of India's Sacred Sites.

Char Dham Yatra Itinerary | Char Dham Yatra: Explore the Spiritual Marvels of India's Sacred Sites.
Shri Kedhar Nath ji

Exploring India's Sacred Journey: The Four Dhams in India

India, a land steeped in spirituality, boasts a pilgrimage route that holds immense significance for Hindus worldwide—The Char Dham Yatra, encompassing the four sacred sites known as the Char Dhams. These revered destinations—Badrinath, Dwarka, Puri, and Rameswaram—each carry their unique tales, heritage, and spiritual essence.


Badrinath stands nestled amidst the mighty Himalayas in the state of Uttarakhand. Dedicated to Lord Vishnu, it's believed to be the abode where Vishnu mediated under a Badri tree, hence the name. The temple's architecture, flanked by snow-capped peaks, enchants pilgrims seeking divine blessings.


Dwarka, situated on the western coast of Gujarat, is revered as the kingdom of Lord Krishna. The Dwarkadhish Temple, dedicated to Krishna, echoes with the legends of his life and showcases architectural brilliance. The confluence of spirituality and history here is a mesmerizing experience for devotees.


Puri, located in the eastern state of Odisha, hosts the revered Jagannath Temple. This sacred site witnesses the Rath Yatra, where colossal chariots carry the idols of Lord Jagannath, Balabhadra, and Subhadra through the streets, drawing millions of devotees every year.


Rameswaram, nestled in Tamil Nadu, is a place of immense religious significance. The island town houses the Ramanathaswamy Temple, one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines dedicated to Lord Shiva. The grandeur of the temple and its sacred tanks (theerthams) immerse pilgrims in a spiritually charged ambiance.


Thousands undertake this sacred journey annually, seeking solace, blessings, and a deeper connection with divinity. The Char Dham Yatra isn't just a religious trek; it's a passage that unites individuals with their faith, offering an experience that transcends the ordinary and leaves an indelible mark on the soul.


Embark on the Sacred Journey of Char Dham Yatra! 


The Char Dham Yatra, a pilgrimage of immense spiritual significance, beckons devotees to the four holy abodes nestled in the lap of the Himalayas.


1. Yamunotri: Begin your journey at Yamunotri, the source of the sacred river Yamuna. Located at an altitude of 3,293 meters, it’s situated around 6 kilometers away from Janki Chatti.

2. Gangotri: The next stop is Gangotri, where the Ganges River originates. Travel approximately 19 kilometers from Gangotri town to reach the temple, set amidst picturesque surroundings at an altitude of 3,100 meters.

3. Kedarnath: Kedarnath, dedicated to Lord Shiva, lies at an elevation of 3,583 meters. It’s about 16 kilometers trek from Gaurikund or can be reached by helicopter services.

4. Badrinath: The final leg leads to Badrinath, the abode of Lord Vishnu. Situated at an elevation of 3,133 meters, it’s around 3 kilometers from the town of Joshimath.


Char Dham Yatra Itinerary | Char Dham Yatra: Explore the Spiritual Marvels of India's Sacred Sites.


Embarking on the revered Char Dham Yatra is a pilgrimage that transcends boundaries, weaving through the spiritual fabric of India. Here's an insightful glimpse into the sanctified destinations that adorn this divine expedition:



Day 1: Arrival in Haridwar/Rishikesh

  • Arrive in Haridwar/Rishikesh, immerse in the spiritual ambiance.

  • Visit Har Ki Pauri, witness the Ganga Aarti in the evening.


Day 2: Haridwar/Rishikesh to Yamunotri

  • Depart for Yamunotri early morning.

  • Trek/horse ride to Yamunotri Temple, dedicated to Goddess Yamuna.

  • Return to hotel for an overnight stay.


Day 3: Yamunotri to Gangotri

  • Leave for Gangotri, the birthplace of the Ganges.

  • Visit Gangotri Temple and immerse in the serene surroundings.

  • Overnight stay in Gangotri.


Day 4: Gangotri to Kedarnath

  • Journey towards Kedarnath, a revered temple of Lord Shiva.

  • Trek/helicopter ride (optional) to Kedarnath Temple.

  • Overnight stay in Kedarnath.


Day 5: Kedarnath to Badrinath

  • Depart for Badrinath, home to Badrinath Temple.

  • Visit Mana Village, the last Indian village before Tibet.

  • Explore Badrinath Temple and nearby attractions.

  • Overnight stay in Badrinath.


Day 6: Badrinath to Haridwar/Rishikesh

  • Return to Haridwar/Rishikesh.

  • Explore local markets, temples, or indulge in optional activities.

  • Overnight stay in Haridwar/Rishikesh.

Day 7: Departure

  • Depart for onward journey with blessings from Char Dhams.

Feel free to adjust timings, modes of transport, or activities based on your preferences and time constraints. This itinerary aims to provide a balanced and spiritual experience throughout the Char Dham Yatra.



 Pro tip: Always check weather conditions and travel advisories before planning your trip to ensure a safe and smooth pilgrimage experience.



bottom of page